Giant Size Comic Things Nominated For Liebster Award!

Huge thanks to the crew at Bag and Bored for nominating us for the Liebster Award, an honor given to smaller sites/blogs with around 200 followers or less to help spread the awareness of sites that might be dipping too far under fan radar. We are humbled and excited about this, and we wish all the best of luck to the final winner of this community based award.

As part of this nomination I am to nominate 5 sites that I feel are more than worth a look, and they are to follow suit by not only nominating 5 of their own (separate from the one who nominated you) but also by answering the 11 questions given. I would like to nominate The Nerd Nebula, Kevin Reviews Uncanny X-Men, Geekritique, LFBR LLC, and GeekedOutMovies, all of which I consider friends of the site. Now, on to the questions!

(Answers provided by theslimjames)

Why did you decide to blog in the first place?
My friend, the admin of the site, Turner, was living in Abu Dhabi at the time and we figured this would be a way for us to stay connected over our shared love of geekery, especially Marvel related geekery. I already had theslimjames.com, but I was happy to do something more communal with my friends about a shared passion.

Name three of your pastimes or hobbies.
Collecting comics, especially older comics. I keep my head in the game in regards to new developments, etc, but with decades of back issues for me to swim in (Scrooge McDuck style), I end up pursuing older books over keeping up with newer ones. I recently finished a complete run of every Marvel What If? ever made, and I’m closing in on a complete set of Marvel Two-In-One, as well as the odd Silver Age pickup. Other hobbies include the What If Podcast I started with the crew of Giant Size Comic Things, and cooking/watching too many episodes of Food Network’s “Chopped”.

If you could interview anyone (dead or alive), who would it be and why?
George W. Bush, and I’d only have one question: “Really?”

Do you have any pets? If not, what would you consider getting?
I have a Husky/Corgi mix named Hermione, with a big fluffy neck, googly eyes, and stubby legs. She’s great.

What is your favorite movie and why?
It’s hard to decide, but with honorable mentions going to Monty Python’s Holy Grail and Spinal Tap, I think it has to be Wayne’s World. Even though it’s obviously dated, I can’t help going back and watching it, and continue to quote it forever.

What is your favorite video game and why?
I’m going to shatter my geek cred, but honestly, I’m not huge into video games. I checked out at the PS2, and honestly, my gut reaction is to say Sonic 2 because I can beat it with my eyes closed. However, the Konami X-Men arcade game (the “purple game”, in my mind) is like concentrated nostalgia for throwing in 3 bucks worth of quarters on a Friday night in dream machine.

What is your favorite comic book and why?
Spider-Man will always be my favorite hero, because some reprint of Amazing Spider-Man 45 is what got me into comics, and I’ve always kind of looked like Peter Parker. I have a bizarre fascination with Marvel’s What If series, with short, often ridiculous, stories crammed into one issue. It’s just pure comic fun, and they’re still technically releasing them (annually-ish), so it counts.

What is your favorite Youtube channel?
OSW Review HD, hands down the best wrestling video series on the web today (sorry Botchamania, but IC champ is still good, right?)

If you could cosplay as any character, who would it be and why?
Sticking with my fascination with Marvel’s What If, I’ll say “Venom-possessed Punisher”.

What is your favorite topic to write about?
Deconstruction of the superhero, and, oddly, Arthurian style fantasy.

What’s your favourite fandom?
Comic books, man. Always and forever.

One thought on “Giant Size Comic Things Nominated For Liebster Award!

  1. Hey! Wanted to thank you so much for following, reading and enjoying my blog. I don’t participate in the Liebster award sadly, but I really appreciate your nomination. I’m in a bit of a pickle where I’ve actually been nominated by a few bloggers in quick succession and can’t do several different posts. But thanks so much again. Keep up the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

