Friday Top 5 – Top 5 Signs it’s Summer

The summer solstice was last Saturday, and living in Maine, I thought it would never get here. We seemed to start winter early, in late November, and hold on until early March, with cold spring temperatures hanging around until May. But lo and behold, global warming lives and I can walk the dog again without having a near seizure from shivering so much. With that in mind, here are the top 5 signs it’s summer:

  1. Nothing on TV! Oh man, I’m so excited to watch two hours of fat people and manufactured drama on Extreme Weight Loss, and reruns of The Middle. On the plus side, I didn’t watch much of The Goldbergs during the season and it’s been a nice discovery in the TV wasteland of June to September.
  2. Flip flops! I love not wearing shoes on the weekend (damn you, real job!). I drive barefoot too, rather than risk my flip flop flipping or flopping as I move my foot.
  3. Iced Coffee! I’m a bit of a coffee traditionalist (cream and a little sugar, I don’t care about hazelnuts or coconuts, and the darker roast the better), but even I can’t stand just sweating as I down a hot cup of coffee on an 80 degree afternoon. My favorite? Iced Mocha from Dunkin Donuts, no cream or sugar.
  4. Sunburns! As a man whose skin appears to be the color of paper (tissue made of…tissues?), I try to soak in as much sun as I can when I have a chance to be shirtless (damn you, real job!). Still, I try to be cognizant of my neck and apply sunscreen generously, since a burn on the t-shirt neckline is the worst thing the sun can do to you since…cancer. Ahem.
  5. Trying not to stare at women in bikinis! Both the good (daaamn) and the bad (damn!), teenage to middle age, summer can be a minefield of not knowing where to look, exacerbated if it’s a family function. Two choices: dark or reflective sunglasses to hide your eyes or just stare off into the distance, slightly above the horizon. I’d probably go for the latter, since you look totally rugged and pensive.
Leave a Reply

