The Monday Morning Quarter-Bin – The Venom 2099 Saga (Part 5 of 5)

Spider-Man 2099 #39 was a comic I had to have.

(image from Marvel.Wikia)

Not because of fantastic cover art (SM2099…looking plain!), but because I had to, had to know who Venom 2099 was. So I went down to the comic shop, hoping they had the last issue I needed, hopefully also for $3.00 like I had paid for the previous 4. What luck! There it was. I took it home, and when I finally breached its pages, I found the answers I was looking for. Venom 2099 was Kron Stone, who was apparently Miguel O’Hara’s half brother. The origin of Venom? After getting beaten by Punisher (2099) and left in a sewer, Kron Stone was possessed by the Venom symbiote, which had been “hanging around” in the sewer for 100 years, apparently, and also apparently just evolved to be acidic. A little bit of a let down. Miguel beats Kron something fierce, which is kind of a separation of Spider-Man 2099 from modern day Peter Parker. That I liked. There was also the beginnings of new plot threads (or continuation of old ones) with Goblin 2099 and Vulture 2099, but I chose to leave the Spider-Man 2099 universe for now. For me, the explanation’s a bit of a fizzle; sure the twist of a half-brother is nice, but a sliver more imagination on where they symbiote came from would have made it all the more satisfying. A mysterious containment vessel? Maybe the symbiote morphed into some creature that lived in the sewer? Instead, it’s just a sack on the wall that’s been hanging around for 100 years.

In the end, I’m glad I revisited this chapter of my childhood. I recaptured an issue that had slipped from my grasp, and had some closure as to what actually happened with Venom 2099 after I saw his brief debut all those years ago. Combine that with a compelling storyline over the course of about three of the issues, resulting in the death of a major character, and I’m left feeling like this was a worthy addition to my collection. If you can find these (for less than $12 an issue), you wouldn’t be disappointed.

 

Leave a Reply

