Friday Top 5 (TGISA – Thank God It’s Saturday Afternoon)

Once again, forgive the lateness. My MBA class takes up a lot of my free writing time.

1) Habs win! Habs win! Because the Lightning’s goalie broke his body bone, and because Rene Borque decided to show up, the Montreal Canadiens are up 2-0 in their playoff series, with a combined 9 goals between the two games. Montreal may actually make it out of the first round this year. Combine that with a

2) Bruins loss, and I’m one happy Habby (never repeat that phrase).

3) Parks and Rec, and Community. Two of my favorite shows, each with great episodes. Community had their season finale, and as I noted to my girlfriend, all of their season finales kind of feel like series finales given the tenuousness of its existence, so we have things fairly wrapped up waiting for next season. As for Parks and Rec, Ron Swanson’s a role model par excellence and Chris Pratt has me hoping Guardians of the Galaxy might actually be legitimately funny (rather than the “cute funny” present in most Marvel movies).

4) First place in my age group in a 5K! Sure, it was only because of a small field size and the fact that the overall winner, also in my age group, already got a trophy, but let’s hear it for Default!

5) Tomorrow’s Easter, so I have a legitmate excuse to eat Cadbury Creme eggs, not only one of my favorite candies, but one of my favorite foods (though I have enough sense not to eat them regularly).

Double props for the Dairy Milk, dollar for dollar the best chocolate bar out there.

Dishonorable Mention
Facebook’s “Nearby Friend” app. A Facebook app that allows users to see when their “friends” are nearby, based on geolocation date from their phone. Sounds terrible, for two reasons: A) Most of my Facebook friends are people I don’t actually care about, and if I did I’d make a conscious effort to see them. Forced socialization sounds awful to me. B) Even though it’s currently “opt in” (ie you’d have to go out of your way to sign up for the service), it still feels unsettling that users can be actively tracked, and made to believe doing so is beneficial. This sets a dangerous precedence, and is another example of Facebook eroding the idea of privacy in a digital world. Call me a conspiracy kook, but it feels like a dystopian, Big Brother-like future awaits us, and we’ll go in smiling because we’ve been told constant monitoring of our every action adds “value”.

Leave a Reply

