Friday Top 5 (The info on 4/11)

Here’s my Friday Top 5 for this week (I actually watched things this week!)

1) Captain America: The Winter Soldier – I talked about TWS in my Monday Morning Quarter-Bin, but it bears repeating: with an intriguing plot and a good mix of action and characterization (Falcon > Hawkeye, IMO), The Winter Soldier exceeds the First Avenger, Iron Man 3, maybe even The Avengers itself. Of course, my girlfriend likes Thor: The Dark World because of Tom Hiddelston, but I liked this better.

2) Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – On a related note, Agents of SHIELD was truly compelling to me this week because of its tie-in with The Winter Soldier. A few double turns to keep you guessing made this an experience you don’t often get with a good movie: a chance to go back to the storyline and spend some time in the “universe”, while the movie is still new and fresh in your mind (not months after on a DVD release). I bet that’s the best case scenario Marvel was hoping for when they dreamed up AoS (and this week’s tie-in was far superior to the tie-in with The Dark World, though that’s excusable given how far reaching the events of The Winter Soldier were for SHIELD).

3) Parks and Rec – This week’s episode was pretty funny. There was nothing groundbreaking about the show, it was just well executed and produced palpable laughter from me on several occasions. Bo Burnham’s guest appearance was well done, and drunk Ben’s initial phone conversation with Lesley was put this over the top for me.

4) WrestleMania 30 – The Christmas of the wrestling world, when the WWE actually tries for a while, WrestleMania 30 was held this weekend, and WWE produced some memorable moments, including Daniel Bryan finally winning the belt(s), Brock Lesnar ending The Undertaker’s WM undefeated streak, and this gem.

5) The fact that I walked outside today and it was 61 degrees. I truly thought this winter would never end.

Dishonorable mention:
Stephen Colbert, for replacing David Letterman. Not saying Dave shouldn’t retire, not even saying it’s a bad move for anyone, but I love Colbert’s eponymous alter ego on The Colbert Report and my brain will surely break seeing him host a show without being a pompous ass.

One thought on “Friday Top 5 (The info on 4/11)

Leave a Reply

